Since morning I was seeing posts, tweets, discussions happening around today – “Friday, The 13th”. All of them had their own view points. Some believed it to be an unlucky day where they would not plan, invest, start a new venture. And for some it was just a routine day of work before weekend started. While surfing the net, I opened my twitter account and saw “Friday The 13th” trending with 177K tweets. That made me inquisitive to look at the tweets and what people had a say about it. Later I asked 3 of my friends, what were their views on this?

1st Friend: It’s just a date. Everyone has their own ‘Friday, The 13th’ in their life. It’s just like believing in god. Sometimes people over do such things, and then it feels a bit irritating.

2nd Friend: I don’t believe in such things. It’s just a combination of day and date like maths – permutations and combinations. Some combinations happen more frequently and some are rare. However, human beings are such that anything good happens on that day, that’s their lucky day and if anything bad happens, that’s their unlucky day.

3rd Friend: It’s just any other day for me. Maybe I am happier that day. I mean people have their beliefs and we should respect them till the time they are not harming the society.

In my case, I love to purposefully do the things that are told not to be done, specifically which don’t have any reasons and where the base is only ‘Superstitions’ or ‘Just what people hear and believe’. Trust me, I get more motivated, thrilled, energetic when I am about to cross the boundary of superstitious beliefs to break the myth. Somehow it turns out to be positive, because back in my mind, I know I have to prove that belief wrong.

Some families have beliefs being followed since their ancestor times where no one bothered to question or ask a simple – ‘WHY’. I grew up in such a family with lot of fear and alertness. I used to always ensure the beliefs are followed. Such as:

  1. When a black cat crosses your path, you need to stop for a minute and then start walking
  2. Do not cut nails at night
  3. If you are leaving the house and sneeze once, wait until you sneeze second time and then leave
  4. Don’t go near a ‘Peepal Tree’ at night, else ghosts will take you with them
  5. Don’t open an Umbrella inside the house

I still remember that day when I had broken this myth and was freed from superstitious beliefs, killing all my fears. I was in hurry to reach college for a scheduled examination. I had reached 5mins late and while entering the college gate, suddenly a cat jumped from the pillar and crossed my path. I rushed to the examination hall without stopping and thinking what bad could happen. Later results were out and I HAD FAILED THAT SUBJECT. All the way from college to home, I was thinking – “Is it because I didn’t stop for a moment when the cat had passed?”; “What if I had stopped, it was just a minute?”; “Does this even relate? ‘CAT’ & ‘FAILING THE EXAM’?”

As soon as I reached home, I went to my room started putting the thoughts together and came to a conclusion. It was not the ‘CAT’ or ‘SUPERSTITIOUS BELIEF’ which made me fail in exam. It was my ‘FEAR’ of something bad to happen and kept thinking of that which led to lack of focus on the answers I wrote. Since then, whether a cat crosses my way or a dog; whether I sneeze once or thrice; whether I cut my nails at night or early morning, nothing matters to me. I don’t think of anything except, what I am going to work on and how can I succeed in that.

We have got this life of a human being and no one knows when it’s going to end. Don’t waste your time behind such stupid things until you have answers to it, logically or scientifically. There are so many important things in the world to care about. Live your life at the fullest, enjoy every bit of it with your friends, family, colleagues.

I love reading Robin Sharma’s books and he has very nicely put some of the beautiful quotes on FEAR.

  1. You were born into fearlessness, but the world may have taught you to fear.
  2. Fear only become powerful when you give it your power.
  3. Make your faith larger than you fears.
  4. The fear we don’t face become our limits.
  5. Being scared is part of being alive. Accept it. Walk through it.

When are you becoming #FEARLESS?

Leave a Reply

